Kucera named first-team All-Conference

Kucera named first-team All-Conference

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Huntingdon senior Patrick Kucera earned All-Conference honors with the release of the USA South All-Conference baseball awards on Wednesday.

Kucera was named first-team as an outfielder. This is the second straight season Kucera has earned All-Conference honors. The Daphne, Ala., native was a second-team selection last season.

Kucera has started in all 35 games this season and leads Huntingdon with a .390 batting average, 53 hits, 44 runs, eight doubles, three triples, 32 walks, 18 stolen bases, a .515 slugging percentage and a .526 on-base average.

He is fourth on the team with 22 RBIs and has put together a 16-game hitting streak and nine-game hitting streak this season.

Kucera ranks third in Division III in runs scored and walks and is tied for 11th in hits. He leads the USA South in on-base percentage and walks, is second in runs, third in stolen bases, fifth in batting average and tied for seventh in hits.

Huntingdon senior Landon Sessions was named to the All-Sportsmanship team.

In its third season as a member of the USA South, Huntingdon is 19-16 entering the conference tournament. The Hawks will play LaGrange in the first round of the tournament on Thursday at 3:30 p.m. (Central) in North Carolina.

LaGrange junior third baseman Blake Butcher was named USA South Player of the Year and Ferrum senior Jake Perkins was named Pitcher of the Year for the second time in three seasons.

North Carolina Wesleyan third baseman Trey Croom earned Rookie of the Year honors and Ferrum freshman Hunter Peck was chosen as the Rookie Pitcher of the Year. Ferrum's Ryan Brittle was recognized as the Coach of the Year.


The complete All-Conference awards are listed below.


USA South All-Conference Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Blake Butcher, LaGrange

Pitcher of the Year: Jake Perkins, Ferrum

Rookie of the Year: Trey Croom, N.C. Wesleyan

Rookie Pitcher of the Year: Hunter Peck, Ferrum

Coach of the Year: Ryan Brittle, Ferrum


First Team

1B - Zack Blonder, Maryville
2B - Joe Pradat, LaGrange
3B - Blake Butcher, LaGrange
SS - Ciro Norzagaray, N.C. Wesleyan
C - Chad Pigg, LaGrange
DH/Util. - James Lovett, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Johnny Carpenter, Maryville
OF - Patrick Kucera, Huntingdon
OF - Alex Rodriguez, Methodist
SP - Ryan Broaderick, LaGrange
SP - Jake Perkins, Ferrum
RP - Hunter Peck, Ferrum


Second Team

1B - Cain Sauls, LaGrange
2B - Hunter Ashworth, Averett
3B - Lucas Scott, Methodist
SS - Tavin Thompson, LaGrange
C - Brandon Wheat, N.C. Wesleyan
DH/Util. - Casey Bell, LaGrange
OF - Luke Harvey, Covenant
OF - Trenton Nobles, Covenant
OF - Keith Sims, LaGrange
SP - Garrett Kriston, Covenant
SP - Eric Morell, LaGrange
RP - Allen Tokarz, Piedmont


Honorable Mention

1B - Breck Davidson, Piedmont
2B - Ty Comer, Ferrum
3B - Trey Croom, N.C. Wesleyan
SS - Kyle Vidano, Averett
C - Z Arima, Covenant
OF - Davis Cass, Methodist
OF - Lane Deaver, Ferrum
OF - Evan Gresham, Piedmont
SP - Dillon Weaver, Ferrum



Noah Greenblatt, Averett
Luke Harvey, Covenant
Clay Massie, Ferrum
J.P. Lisk, Greensboro
Landon Sessions, Huntingdon
Keith Sims, LaGrange
Dan Oaklief, Maryville
Adam Gunn, Methodist
James Kornegay, N.C. Wesleyan
Josh Thomas, Piedmont
Trevor Nanney, William Peace

Hawks fall to Randolph-Macon
February 6, 2016 Hawks fall to Randolph-Macon