Harp chosen as first-team All-Conference

Harp chosen as first-team All-Conference

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Huntingdon senior Juliette Harp was named first-team All-Conference by the USA South Athletic Conference with the release of the women's basketball awards on Thursday.

This is the third straight season Harp has received All-Conference recognition and the second straight season she has been named first-team All-Conference and first-team All-West Division.

Harp averaged 18.2 points and 13.7 rebounds to lead Huntingdon to a 16-10 record this season. She led Division III with 24 double-doubles in 26 games, and her 356 rebounds and 13.7 rebounds per game ranked in the top-10 in Division III this season. Harp's 18.2 points per game tied for fourth in the USA South this season.

The 6-foot-2 forward left her mark on the Huntingdon record book during her 92-game career. For the NCAA era, she is the Lady Hawks' career leader in rebounds (1,018), rebounds per game (11.1), blocks (207) and field goal percentage (49.9), is fourth in scoring (1,283 points), second in points per game (13.9) and third in field goals made (520).

This season, Harp set Huntingdon's new NCAA-era record with 191 field goals made and her 474 points were the second most by a Lady Hawk behind Pat Pickens' 497 points during the 2014-15 season. Her 356 rebounds this season broke the Huntingdon record of 319 set by Harp as a junior and her 56 blocks this season rank third behind her junior (71) and sophomore (59) seasons.

During her career, Harp recorded 10 of the top 14 rebounding performances in program history. This season she turned in five of the top six rebounding performances in Lady Hawks' history, including a program record 22 rebounds against Rust College.

Sophomore Sidney Ison was named to the women's All-Sportsmanship team.

Ferrum's Zarkia Mattox was named Player of the Year and Meredith's Kimberly Schuh was named Rookie of the Year. Berea's Trent Milby was named Coach of the Year.

The complete All-Conference awards are listed below.


USA South All-Conference Women's Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum

Rookie of the Year: Kimberly Schuh, Meredith

Coach of the Year: Trent Milby, Berea


First Team All-Conference
Samm Chandler, Averett
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Mikayla Ray, William Peace
Adriana Williams, Berea


First Team West Division
Garis Grant, Agnes Scott
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Rachel Hawn, Maryville
Bri Lanham, Berea
Adriana Williams, Berea

Second Team West Division
Kaley Hallmark, Covenant
Lauren  Johnson, LaGrange
Madison Maples, Maryville 
Amari Price, Piedmont
Carlie Shields, Piedmont


First Team East Division
Samm Chandler, Averett
Katie Lewis, Greensboro
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Mikayla Ray, William Peace
Sabrina Shepherd, Salem


Second Team East Division
Amani Ajayi, Averett
Erin March, Ferrum
KeChae Parker, N.C. Wesleyan
Kimberly Schuh, Meredith
MiKayla Seivers, Salem


Annie Weimerskirch, Agnes Scott
Hailey Chandler, Averett
Zacchea Small, Berea
Annalee Bollinger, Brevard
Morgan Douglass, Covenant
Jessie O'Conner, Ferrum
Kylee Barry, Greensboro
Sidney Ison, Huntingdon
Austin Richardson, LaGrange
Cauy Duboise, Mary Baldwin
Kelley Wandell, Maryville
Janah Hassell, Meredith
Kadie Snipes, Methodist
Daijah Davis, N.C. Wesleyan
Kaylee O'Dwyer, Pfeiffer
Bridgette Kelly, Piedmont
Tarryn Johnson, Salem
Alexis Russell, Wesleyan
Dejah Cheatham, William Peace