Works and Clayton named to All-SEILC team

Senior Jakob Works was named SEILC Offensive Player of the Year.
Senior Jakob Works was named SEILC Offensive Player of the Year.

By Chuck Tidmore

Sports Information Assistant 


MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Two Huntingdon players were named to the All-Southeast Independent Lacrosse Championship team this week.

Senior attacker Jakob Works was named SEILC Offensive Player of the Year while also being named to the All-Conference team alongside junior defender Josh Clayton.

The SEILC is comprised of the five USA South Athletic Conference members (Huntingdon College, Ferrum College, Greensboro College, Piedmont College and Methodist University) who play men's lacrosse.

Works leads Huntingdon and the SEILC with 66 points (53 goals and 13 assists) and has 31 ground balls this season. Works was named to the inaugural SEILC All-Conference team last season. He is four points away from tying his own record for points in a season set in 2014 and needs three more goals to tie his record for goals in a season set in 2014.

Clayton is making his first appearance on the All-Conference team as a long-stick midfielder. He has recorded one goal, 60 ground balls and a team-high 20 caused turnovers this season. Clayton has had much success at the faceoff wing and has helped Sam Hitt set the single-season faceoff wins record. 

Along with Works, Ferrum's Brandon Schrantz was named Defensive Player of the Year; Methodist's Kyle Clarkson was named Newcomer of the Year and Ferrum's Mark Frey was named Coach of the Year.

The conference tournament will be held in Ferrum, Va. this weekend. Third-seeded Huntingdon (8-9, 2-2 SEILC) will play second-seeded Methodist (8-8, 3-1 SEILC) at 3 p.m. (Central) on Saturday. Top-seeded Ferrum (8-9, 4-0 SEILC) will play fourth-seeded Greensboro (5-10, 1-4 SEILC) in the first game of the tournament at noon.

The tournament championship game is scheduled for noon (Central) on Sunday.

Last season, Huntingdon entered the tournament as the No. 3 team and defeated Greensboro in the semifinals before falling to No. 1 Ferrum in triple overtime in the championship game.

The complete All-SEILC awards are listed below.


SEILC Men's Lacrosse Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Jakob Works, Huntingdon

Defensive Player of the Year: Brandon Schrantz, Ferrum

Newcomer of the Year: Kyle Clarkson, Methodist

Coach of the Year: Mark Frey, Ferrum



Jakob Works, Huntingdon

Jake Smerka, Methodist

Tyler Fullum, Ferrum

Denis Radcliff, Greensboro


Ryan Teslar, Ferrum

Tyson Haith, Methodist

Chas Stringfellow, Greensboro

Marcus Boyer, Ferrum

Faceoff Specialist

Jordan DeSalvo, Methodist

Short-Stick Defensive Midfielder

Victor Mehrtens, Greensboro

Long-Stick Midfielder

Josh Clayton, Huntingdon


Brandon Schrantz, Ferrum

John Tartline, Methodist

Jake Gianelle, Greensboro


Koby McMahon, Ferrum