Huntingdon’s Fought and Powell named All-Conference

Huntingdon’s Fought and Powell named All-Conference

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Huntingdon infielders Taylor Fought and Wes Powell were recognized with the release of the USA South All-Conference baseball awards on Wednesday.

Fought was named second-team all-conference at third base and Powell was named second-team all-conference at shortstop. Fought leads the Hawks in hits, runs, RBIs, home runs and doubles and is second on the team in batting average. Powell leads the Hawks in batting average and on-base percentage, is tied for first in stolen bases and is second in hits.

Fought, a junior from Fort Walton Beach, Fla., has started in all 34 games this season. In his first season with the Hawks, he is batting .341 with 47 hits, 29 RBIs, 28 runs, four home runs and eight doubles.

After starting the season with a .210 batting average, 13 hits and six RBIs in the first 16 games, Fought is batting .447 with 34 hits and 23 RBIs in the past 18 games.

Powell, as a true freshman, has started in 27 games at shortstop this season. Powell is batting .368 with 32 hits, 20 runs, 14 RBIs, six doubles, a .471 on-base percentage and eight stolen bases in 11 attempts.

Huntingdon senior C.J. Sauce was named to the All-Sportsmanship team.

LaGrange senior designated hitter Casey Bell was named USA South Player of the Year and LaGrange junior Ryan Broaderick was named Pitcher of the Year.

LaGrange freshman Richie Post was named Rookie Pitcher of the Year and Ferrum freshman outfielder Dominick Claxton was named Rookie of the Year. LaGrange's David Kelton was recognized as the Coach of the Year.

The complete All-Conference awards are listed below.


USA South All-Conference Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Casey Bell, LaGrange

Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Broaderick, LaGrange

Rookie of the Year: Dominick Claxton, Ferrum   

Rookie Pitcher of the Year: Richie Post, LaGrange

Coach of the Year: David Kelton, LaGrange


First Team

1B - Caleb Bloye, Covenant
2B - Ty Comer, Ferrum
3B - Blake Butcher, LaGrange
SS - Tavin Thompson, LaGrange
C - Forrest Hunter, Covenant
DH/Util. - Casey Bell, LaGrange
OF - Brady Ballstadt, Piedmont
OF - Lane Deaver, Ferrum
OF - Blane Swift, LaGrange
SP - Ryan Broaderick, LaGrange
SP - Hunter Peck, Ferrum
RP - Jonathan Fleckenstein, LaGrange


Second Team

1B - Tony Sanchez, N.C. Wesleyan
2B - Andrew Henry, Maryville
3B - Taylor Fought, Huntingdon
SS - Wes Powell, Huntingdon
C - Tim Ortega, Ferrum
DH/Util. - Nate Gardner, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Dominick Claxton, Ferrum
OF - Luke Harvey, Covenant
OF - James Poropatic, LaGrange
SP - Ryan Grant, N.C. Wesleyan
SP - Andrew Weekley, LaGrange
RP - Joe Jones, Maryville


Honorable Mention

1B - Alec Allred, William Peace
2B - Brad Pennington, N.C. Wesleyan
3B - Alex Scott, William Peace
SS - Matthias Carter, Methodist
C - Brandon Wheat, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Zach Langley, Piedmont
OF - Luis Palencia, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Bryce Redaja, Maryville
SP - Trevor Pence, William Peace



Hunter Ashworth, Averett
Forrest Hunter, Covenant
Dillon Weaver, Ferrum
Bram Johnson, Greensboro
C.J. Sauce, Huntingdon
Cain Sauls, LaGrange
Sam Jokerst, Maryville
Will May, Methodist
Donielle Totten, N.C. Wesleyan
Nathan Holt, Piedmont
Brian Willis, William Peace