Three Hawks selected to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Three Hawks selected to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas – Three Huntingdon College football players were recognized with the release of National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday.

Receivers Kevin Barnett and Chance Byrd and quarterback Chip Taylor were among 1,252 players from 303 schools named to the 2018 Hampshire Honor Society

To be eligible for the Hampshire Honor Society, a player must have been a starter or significant contributor during their last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA or NAIA institution, maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers and met all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The 1,252 student-athletes recognized this year are the most in a single season since the inception of the program in 2007. The 303 participating schools are also the most since the program began. A total of 8,995 student-athletes have been honored in the history of the program.

Since 2007, Huntingdon has had at least one student-athlete recognized each year. Including Huntingdon's three newest members, a total of 59 Hawks have been chosen to the Hampshire Honor Society.

Huntingdon was one of four schools in Alabama to have at least one player selected this year. In addition to Huntingdon's selections, Auburn University had seven players named, Jacksonville State University had five players selected and the University of South Alabama had two players selected.

Huntingdon was the only member of the USA South Athletic Conference with players selected.


Huntingdon's previous Hampshire Honor Society selections

2017: Hunter Booth, John Dunn, Nick Haas, William Harris, John Iwaniec, Brandon Mattox, Buck Robinson, Lake Romine, Jordan Shelby, Jordan Smith, Mark White

2016: Chael Pridgen, Jacob Wright

2015: Derick Bothwell, Brantley Carr, Michael Hill, Jimbo Turk, Ryan Williams

2014: Garrett Fletcher, Dakota Hooper, Cameron Lewis, Tyler Robinson, Ryne Taylor, Ryan White

2013: Tyler Hall, Neal Posey, Austin Worley

2012: A.J. Swift

2011: Quinn Hambrite, Drew Harrell, Jacob King, Steven Pennewitt

2010: Alex Baronich, Shane Corley, Steven Laye, Tal Lynn, Justin Ridgeway, Josh Robertson, Zach Sealy

2009: Philip Bailey, Caleb Hartin, Gary Nelson

2008: Will Brannon, C.J. Easterly, Zach Golson, Cliff Groce, Justin Nelson, Will Smith, Matt Thompson, Bryan Wells

2007: Mark Colson, Avery Ford, Yancey Gordon, Jacob Seales, Fred Shelby, Hodge Patterson

2017 NCAA Playoff Information
November 13, 2017 2017 NCAA Playoff Information