Division III field announced for NCAA Men’s Golf Championships

Division III field announced for NCAA Men’s Golf Championships

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The NCAA selection committee released the field for the 2018 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships on Monday.

Second-ranked Huntingdon will be one of 42 teams competing at Grandover Resort in Greensboro, N.C., on May 15-18.

This is the Hawks' third straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament and the 11th since 2005. Huntingdon tied for fourth last season and was the national runner-up in 2016.

A total of 33 teams received an automatic berth in the tournament as conference champions. Two teams were chosen from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification.

Seven Pool C bids are reserved for teams from automatic-qualifying conferences, who did not win their conference, and the remaining Pool B teams.

The top six individuals who have not qualified with a team, round out the field of 216 golfers.

Huntingdon was one of four USA South Athletic Conference teams to earn a berth in the national tournament. USA South champion North Carolina Wesleyan received the automatic qualifier. Huntingdon, Methodist and Greensboro each received Pool C bids. Ferrum's Lance Keiser qualified as an individual.

The complete field for the 2018 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships is listed below.



* Denotes Conference Champions

B – Denotes Pool B

C – Denotes Pool C


1. Aurora*

2. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps*

3. Concordia University-Texas – (C)

4. Emory – (B)

5. Farmingdale State*

6. Franklin & Marshall*

7. Goucher*

8. Greensboro – (C)

9. Guilford*

10. Hope*

11. Huntingdon College – (C)

12. Husson*

13. Illinois Wesleyan*

14. Johnson & Wales*

15. Lake Forest*

16. La Verne – (C)

17. Manhattanville*

18. Mary Washington*

19. Methodist – (C)

20. Nebraska Wesleyan*

21. New York University*

22. North Carolina Wesleyan*

23. Otterbein*

24. Pacific Lutheran*

25. Penn State-Behrend*

26. Penn State-Berks*

27. Rhodes*

28. Rosemont*

29. Southwestern (Texas) – (B)

30. St. Scholastica*

31. St. John Fisher*

32. St. John's (Minnesota) – (C)

33. St. Thomas (Minnesota)*

34. Stevenson*

35. Texas-Tyler*

36. Transylvania*

37. Trinity*

38. Washington and Jefferson*

39. Washington and Lee – (C)

40. Webster*

41. Western New England*

42. Wittenberg*




1. Jacob Arnett, Oglethorpe

2. Ryan Isaacson, Wisconsin-Eau Claire

3. Lance Keiser, Ferrum

4. Cade Lawson, Redlands

5. Ryan Muthiora, Kenyon

6. Ben VanScoyk, Calvin