GCAA announces All-Region and All-America Scholar selections

GCAA announces All-Region and All-America Scholar selections

NORMAN, Okla. – The Golf Coaches Association of America released its PING All-Region teams and the Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars on Tuesday night.

Four Hawks earned All-Region honors and three were named All-America Scholars.

All-Region teams were selected for six regions. Huntingdon seniors Mark Connelly, Henry Gee and Stephen Shephard and junior Drew Mathers were named to the South Region team.

This is the third straight season Shephard has earned All-Region honors and the second straight season Connelly has received the recognition.

A total of 10 golfers from the USA South Athletic Conference earned All-Region honors.

Gee, Mathers and Shephard were among 61 golfers named All-America Scholars. Shephard also earned the honor as a junior. The three Hawks were among four golfers from the USA South to receive the recognition.

To be eligible for Division III All-America Scholar status, an individual must be a junior or senior academically, have competed in at least two full years at the collegiate level, participated in at least 50 percent of his team's competitive rounds and have a stroke-average under 79 and maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2. Recipients must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.



GCAA Division III PING All-South Region team

Grady Anderson, NC Wesleyan

Jacob Arnett, Oglethorpe

Scott Campbell, Greensboro

Mark Connelly, Huntingdon

Preston DeSantis, Berry

John Hatcher Ferguson, Hampden-Sydney

Sam Galloway, Emory

Henry Gee, Huntingdon

Larkin Gross, Methodist

Josh Hill, Guilford

Drew Mathers, Huntingdon

James Mishoe, Guilford

Matt Organisak, Emory

Brian Peccie, Washington & Lee

Robert Quinilty, Washington & Lee

Sam Rogers, LaGrange

Logan Ryan, Emory

Stephen Shephard, Huntingdon

Dan Shepherd, Methodist

Bruce Shober, Hampden-Sydney

Mariano Silvestri, NC Wesleyan

Connor Yakubov, Emory

Eric Yiu, Emory