Jones and Robinson named to All-Conference tennis teams

Jones and Robinson named to All-Conference tennis teams

By Chuck Tidmore

Sports Information Assistant 


FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Sophomore John Jones and freshman Zoya Robinson were recognized by the USA South Athletic Conference on Thursday with the release of the All-Conference men's and women's tennis teams.

Jones was named honorable mention for men's tennis while Robinson was named honorable mention for women's tennis.

Jones finished the regular season with a 4-8 record at No. 1 singles and teamed with Trey Pirtle at No. 1 doubles for an 8-6 record.

In their third season in the USA South, the Hawks enter the conference tournament with a 9-5 record. Huntingdon will open the tournament against Piedmont on Friday at 1 p.m. (Central) in Rocky Mount, N.C.

Junior Justin McQueen was named to the USA South All-Sportsmanship team. 

Robinson was 4-8 at No. 1singles during the regular season and had a 13-2 record at No. 1 and No. 2 doubles.

The Lady Hawks closed the regular season with a 12-5 record. Huntingdon enters the USA South tournament as the No. 5 seed and will play Meredith on Friday at 9 a.m. (Central) in Rocky Mount, N.C.

Sophomore Caroline McBroom was named to the USA South All-Sportsmanship team.

Covenant's Matthew Harvie was named Men's Player of the Year while Ioannis Brokakis of North Carolina Wesleyan was named Men's Rookie of the Year. Methodist's Mark Tarentino was named Men's Coach of the Year.

Averett's Heidi Sarkkinen was named Women's Player and Rookie of the Year while Covenant's John Hirte was named Women's Coach of the Year.

The complete All-Conference awards are listed below.

USA South All-Conference Men's Tennis Awards

Player of the Year: Matthew Harvie, Covenant

Rookie of the Year: Ioannis Brokakis, N.C. Wesleyan

Coach of the Year: Mark Tarentino, Methodist


First Team

Ioannis Brokakis, N.C. Wesleyan
Taylor Buchholz, Methodist
R.J. Clement, Methodist
Matthew Harvie, Covenant
Nathan Metzger, Piedmont
Sebastian Sikh, N.C. Wesleyan

Second Team

Mitchell Corley, LaGrange
Chris Cox, Covenant
Teal Howard, Methodist
Oliver Lindqvist, Averett
Matthew Metzger, Piedmont
Daniel Silva, Maryville

Honorable Mention

Anh Hoang, Ferrum
John Jones, Huntingdon
Nicolas Quevedo, Averett
Mark Sokolov, N.C. Wesleyan
J.D. Telles, N.C. Wesleyan


Carlos Lora, Averett
Trey Wood, Covenant
Kevin Ramirez, Ferrum
Warren Washington, Greensboro
Justin McQueen, Huntingdon
John Mitchell Benton, LaGrange
Will Marttala, Maryville
Max Mancini, Methodist
J.D. Telles, N.C. Wesleyan
Harrison LaBollita, Piedmont
Michael Savage, William Peace


USA South All-Conference Women's Tennis Awards

Player of the Year: Heidi Sarkkinen, Averett

Rookie of the Year: Heidi Sarkkinen, Averett

Coach of the Year: John Hirte, Covenant

First Team

Valeria Berber, N.C. Wesleyan
Isabella Graf, Methodist
Aly Hall, Covenant
Sam Munze, Methodist
Heidi Sarkkinen, Averett
Ran Zhang, Meredith

Second Team

Stephany Barbera, N.C. Wesleyan
Catherine Bryant, Meredith
Jenna Landis, Methodist
Hannah Mattson, Averett
Florencia Sorrentino, N.C. Wesleyan
Ashton Walker, Methodist

Honorable Mention

Davi Barbour, Methodist
Annie DeLuca, Covenant
Ana Diaz, N.C. Wesleyan
Maddy Little, Maryville
Claire Luger, Covenant
Nicole Parrish, Piedmont
Zoya Robinson, Huntingdon
Andrea Tobar, N.C. Wesleyan


Hannah Mattson, Averett
Lindsay Geving, Covenant
Monica Morris, Ferrum
Ashley Spivey, Greensboro
Caroline McBroom, Huntingdon
Morgan McDonald, LaGrange
Jochebed Koomson, Mary Baldwin
Tessa Wilcox, Maryville
Ran Zhang, Meredith
Isabella Graf, Methodist
Stephany Barbera, N.C. Wesleyan
Tatiana Burkett, Piedmont
Sierra Wyse, William Peace