Huntingdon men and Maryville women claim President's Cup

Huntingdon men and Maryville women claim President's Cup

GSAC Sports Information

DECATUR, Ga.- After a full year of play, the Huntingdon men and Maryville women have claimed the 2011-2012 President's Cup award. This honor goes to the school that performs the best consistently throughout the year in the conference championships.

On the men's side, the Hawks claim their first President's Cup ending the reign of Maryville and Piedmont as the only schools to claim the prize. Conference championships in cross country, tennis and baseball put Huntingdon at the top of the group for the 2011-2012 year.

Sitting in the second spot is LaGrange who claimed the golf conference title this season and finished second in the basketball and baseball tournaments.

Rounding out the men's side, Maryville and Piedmont are third and fourth after finishing well in several sports throughout the season. The Scots claimed the title in soccer and basketball during this season. The Lions finished second in both cross country and tennis.

Winning the conference championship in both volleyball and basketball this season put Maryville at the top of the women's list. Maryville edged out last year's winner Piedmont by a margin of five points. Maryville's surge in the softball tournament a few weeks ago helped give them the final push to claim the President's Cup for this year.

Coming in the middle of the pack are Huntingdon in third, LaGrange in fourth and Agnes Scott in fifth. The Hawks conference title in softball and runner-up spot in tennis kept them at the top of the President's Cup standing. An upset of Maryville in soccer and a tournament run in basketball put the Panthers in the four slot for the year and the fourth straight conference title in tennis put the Scotties in fifth.

The Presidents' Cup, one each for men and women, is awarded to the Great South Athletic Conference schools accumulating the highest points total in an academic year with points based on order of finish in the championships. An institution not fielding a team in a conference championship event will not be awarded points in that sport as member institutions must declare and sponsor a sport as varsity status with the NCAA to participate and score in any conference championship.